The Council consists of the General Secretary, the President and 16 other members selected by the Union's five Sector Committees.

The Council meets at least six times a year and has responsibility for directing the general policy and affairs of the Union and for pursuing a strategic approach to the Union's development.

The responsibilities of the Council are outlined in more detail in the Rules of the Union.


Eileen Gorman

Hugh Keaveney

Marc Ashby

Seáinín McKenna

Jessica Geraghty

Olivia Henry

Denis Stevenson

Christian Hanna

John Burns

Derek McGrath

Tom Ruttledge

Mick Nerney

Joe Allsop