Retired Members' Committee

Apart from availing of the services and special events arranged for all FSU members, the Union's retired members are represented by the FSU Retired Members' Committee which aims to campaign on issues of particular concern to retired members of the Union.

As well as bringing these matters to the attention of the Union's General Council, it is entitled to nominate two retired members as delegates to the Union's Delegate Conference and to submit up to two propositions to the Union's Conference Business Committee for consideration for inclusion on the agenda of the Delegate Conference.

The Retired Members' Committee also works through the ICTU Retired Workers' Committee and the Senior Citizens' Parliament. The Committee also engages in direct lobbying of the relevant authorities and from time to time organises meetings on matters of interest to retired members along with social occasions.

Retired Members' Committee 2016-17:

Hilary Acheson, Cecil Barron, Margaret Browne (Honorary Secretary), Frank Cannon, Leonard Coote, Ken Doyle (Chair), Gerry Duignan, Brid Keelty, Agatha Langan, Marie Lohan, Tom Lydon, John McKenna, Brendan O'Donohue, Ted O'Leary, Fergus Reynolds, Des Sheridan, Harold Strong and Ursula Tighe.

The Retired Members' Committee can be contacted at